SUGAR ISNT THAT BAD AFTER ALL?

If you follow me on my Facebook page(if not click like on the right side of this page) I recently posted a study about dietary sugars and bodyweight. Kritikos Health (Ross) came across this study and he stated on his Facebook page:


“Just as sugar isn’t inherently toxic as some have claimed, it isn’t inherently fattening either. Changes in body fat occur due to changes in energy intake, so it doesn’t matter if your carb calories are coming from Coca-Cola or sweet potato: if they are contributing to a positive energy balance, you will gain weight.”


The study showed that it doesn’t matter if you eat “healthy” carbs or sugar – if you eat too much you will gain weight.

Their conclusion: Among free-living people involving ad libitum diets(no strict control of food intake), intake of free sugars or sugar sweetened beverages is a determinant of body weight. The change in body fatness that occurs with modifying intakes seems to be mediated via changes in energy intakes, since isoenergetic exchange of sugars with other carbohydrates was not associated with weight change.


So hang on, does that mean you can still eat donuts and ice cream and still lose weight? Well apparently this study shows that. However, I don’t believe you can only set your mind to one study. And I also believe study vs real life and millions of different people – there will be different outcomes. As I like to say – everyone is different.

I used to believe sugar was the devil. I still personally like to stay away from sugar in my daily cooking, and I never drink sugar(unless its alcohol). But I’m not banning myself from sugar. As I’ve mentioned before I have a crazy sweet tooth and I love sweet treats, so I do have the occasional cookie or cake. Which I do not think is bad at all. Balance is the key.
As well, there are actually bodybuilders who still eat sugar when preparing for a competition and still get shredded! Layne Norton is one to mention – he follows the IIFYM(If it fits your macros) lifestyle and count everything he eats. It works for him – but it’s not for everyone and is it optimal for health?


Although I think the major problem with sugar is that it is too easy to consume too much. After moving to Scotland and working with Scottish people and see what they eat for their lunch shocks me. They eat a sandwich followed by a packet of crisps, a chocolate and maybe even a muffin or 3. That is a hell of a lot of carbohydrates in one sitting. If you are not in the gym at least 3 times a week, using that energy you all know whats gonna happen.

I still think we should be aware of our sugar intake, as it is the biggest problem that causes obesity. Jamie Oliver recently challenged David Cameron by introducing a sugar tax. And I’m all in for that.

The bottom line is sugar may not be as bad as everyone(the media and health gurus) makes it to be. However large quantities of sugar/carbs is easy to consume and will result in fat gain. And also other negative health impacts: 10 Disturbing Reasons Why Sugar is Bad For You

Whats your thoughts? Comment in the section below!

8 thoughts on “SUGAR ISNT THAT BAD AFTER ALL?

  1. I think the problem with sugar is not that it is inherently “toxic,” or that 1 kcal of refined table sugar is somehow more “fattening” than 1 kcal of spinach. No, I personally find that eating a lot of sugar laden foods causes my energy levels to fluctuate, which impacts my activity levels. Additionally, I end up feeling hungrier in the long run and thus consume more overall calories. People who subscribe to the traditional “common sense” formula of “calories in < calories out = weight loss" are not technically wrong. You CAN lose weight on donuts and ice cream, as long as you consume less than you're burning (this is the whole basis for Weight Watchers). But you'll feel like complete crap and be hungry all the time. 🙂

    Like

    1. No I do agree with you absolutely! I find eating a sweet potato much more rewarding that a packet of haribo. Although what I tried to state is that you dont have to go anti sugar if you are already eating a balanced diet. The problem with the world(media) today is to blame the weigh gain on one thing. First it was fat and now it is sugar.
      I cant say its more benefical to have sugar in your diet – but maybe easier to eat a balanced diet with the occational cookie.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Totally agree. It’s all about being balanced. I chose to cut out sugar because I struggle with maintaining balance when I get my hands on it. It’s ultimately easier for me to avoid it all together. But that’s more about psychology than physiology. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I believe sugar isn’t the issue at all. Like many other things in life. If we have too much of it then it becomes an issue.
    I agree with you Dina a balanced diet and the occasional cookie is our better option.
    Thanks for posting this Dina. Awesome and informative post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The dosage makes the poison deadly. However with sugar the amount is so small. Despite the fact that weightloss comes down to energy balance there are a lot of other hormonal and health related issues with consuming too much sugar.

    Like

Leave me a comment

