COFFEE

So Ross aka Kritikos Health left a comment on my summary of The Rebuild diet. He asked what food groups I have reintroduced and how I’ve done it. In all honesty, I havent done it in a certain pattern. There is of course still some foods I havent eaten yet, eggs to give you one example. But I have pretty much gone back to a “normal” diet. And I can’t say I have noticed any difference. At all. Although, I would consider myself as a pretty food tolerant person. I’ve been food poisoned maybe once in my life(touch wood) and have never really had an issue with any food that I consume. I eat food until it looks, smells or taste funny, I don’t follow the use by or best before date. My dad always said to me if it doesn’t look, smell or taste funny its okay to eat. And I honestly think that is the best approach to lower your food waste.


wpid-snapchat-7724527869774028016.jpg

Moving on, coffee. All caffeinated drinks was eliminated when I went through the Rebuild diet. And I must say this was probably the hardest part. After a week in I started to drink decaffeinated coffee now and again. Yes I do actually love the taste of coffee. Black, white, short, long you name it. However, the fact that I was having severe caffeine withdrawals bothered me. I do not want to be addicted to coffee. I want to drink coffee because I enjoy it. And it put me thinking do I really need coffee? The short answer is yes. Not because I need it, but because I enjoy the hot cup of coffee in the morning, after a meal or with my cake.
Changing over to decaf was ok. It tastes a bit different from caffeinated coffee, but I still enjoyed it.Β  And to mention, decaf coffee actually have some caffeine in it, although this amount is very small.
So after having the decaf coffee for some time, I will actually continue drinking it, with my caffeinated coffee. Lucky for me(and all of you) decaffeinated coffee has nearly the same amount of health benefits as normal coffee has. But on the plus side you can enjoy decaf coffee without any side effects.

wpid-snapchat-6939732776680409002.jpg

Did you know coffee contains:
  • Vitamin B2
  • Vitamin B5
  • Manganese
  • Potassium
  • Magnesium
  • Niacin
Coffee:
  • May lower the risk for Type 2 Diabetes
  • May lower the risk for Alzheimer and Dementia
  • May lower the risk for Parkinson’s disease
  • May lower the risk of developing cirrhosis(liver disease)
  • May lower the risk of developing depression
  • May lower the risk of developing some types of cancer
  • May lower the risk of stroke
  • Boost metabolism
  • Improve your longevity
Coffee is super healthy and you can enjoy your cup with a good conscience.

wpid-snapchat-7754367437930657573.jpg
Leave me a comment

