BSc NUTRITION IS NOT JUST ABOUT DIETS AND FOOD – A RANT

Right, I’m going to have a little rant here as this has annoyed me more than it should.
When I decided to start to study Nutrition, I as many of you I thought that this was pretty much just about diets, food and what is good and bad. WRONG. As soon as I looked up the course details I thought, no this is not for me. Why? Because it is a Scientific study. Its pretty much all about science. And I always thought that this type of study would be on the bottom of my list. I never saw myself as an academic person. I liked experience more than sticking my head into a book, but things certainly changes. In fact the more I can read and improve my knowledge the more I enjoy it.

rebuild diet(1)

And what really enjoys me(and I know many of my fellow nutrition students feels the same), everyone I say I study nutrition to say:

“oh so its pretty much just about food and diets” or “what, why are you studying this for 4 years, when you can take an online course in just 12 weeks?!”

No, wrong. There is a lot more to it than just diets and food. We learn how the body respond, how it works, what cells, receptors, enzymes etc does when certain things happens, what diseases can come from genetic mutations, how a baby develops, to what kind of medications you would use to treat someone with hypertension to different heart diseases. Its biology, pharmacology, genetics, systems biology, molecular biology, microbiology, research to human physiology to mention a few. And much more. Half of what we learn I feel like have nothing to do with Nutrition(in fact there was a lot of people dropping out in the first semester year 1 who felt this wasnt what they were expecting), some of it I don’t even have an interest in learning. But its all general background we have to know. So its is a lot more than just food and diets. Of course we have modules about nutrition, food science and even had a cooking class first year.

I have listed all the modules we go through the 4 years of the BSc Nutrition course below.


Year One: Biochemistry/ Developmental Biology and Ageing/ Genetics/ Health and Society/ Cell Biology & Human Physiology/ Integrating
Module 1/ Introduction to Nutrition/ Key Investigative Skills 1/ Microbiology

Year Two: Food Science/ Immunology/ Integrating Module 2/ Key Investigative Skills 2/ Molecular Biology/ Nutrition/ Pharmacology/
Professional Development in Scientific Analysis/ Systems Biology

Year Three: Applied Nutrition/ Clinical Sciences/ Determinants of Health/ Dissertation (choice of topic)/ Epidemiology and Health/ Professional Module/ Scientific Enquiry and Evaluation/ Plus one from the following optional modules: Public Health Practice/ Techniques for Nutrition Research

Year Four: Current Issues in Cancer/ Current Issues in Cardiovascular and Cerebrovascular Disease/ Current Issues in Obesity/ Epidemiology/ Food and Nutrition Policy/ Honours Project (research)/ Research Communication/ Research Process/ Plus one from the following optional modules: Current Issues in Sport and Exercise/ Health Education and Promotion/ International Health and Nutrition


A nutritionist and a self claimed nutritionist is two different things. A person with a bachelor degree know a lot more than a 12 week course nutritionist. Just have that in mind if you are ever going to hire someone. Of course self learned nutritionist can be very good at their job and might even be better sometimes. I think all depends on how much passion they have for the subject. Myself read about things I don’t learn at uni in my own time. As for me I have a great passion for this. I want to know everything I can and I want to do this for a living and help people.
3 thoughts on “BSc NUTRITION IS NOT JUST ABOUT DIETS AND FOOD – A RANT

  1. Could you please let me know the books that a Bsc student refers to? Bsc nutrition in India is just a three year degree. None of us are satisfied with what we are being taught. Everything over here is just from the exam point of view. Please let me know what are the possible books one can refer to!

    Like

Leave me a comment

