WHAT TO PUT IN YOUR BASKET

I am currently helping a dear friend to lose weight and change the person’s way of eating. What I realised that his/her’s main struggle is to know what to eat. We all know lean meats, fruits and vegetables and so on are healthy – but it’s actually not always as simple as just eating “healthy” if you want to change your body.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have added some pictures of a typical food shop. I normally food shop 2-3 times a week. Mainly because I’m a person who does not like to plan out what I’m going to eat every day at the beginning of the week and I always tend to forget something. I like variety in my meals – not only for personal preference but also for the nutritional benefits different foods provide.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Coconut milk as I don’tย drink milk. And also because I prefer the taste of it and need it in my coffee. (PS. The KoKo tastes better than Alpro!)

Oatcakes for a quick snack if I’m hungry or want something carby next to a salad. Also, oats are a great source of carbs for lowering cholesterol, don’t bloat me, great fibre content and good to stabilise blood sugar to mention a few benefits.

Tomatoes because they are great antioxidants, brings color to the plate, taste amazing, can be used in endless ways and is linked to good heart health.

Strawberries for when the sweet cravings kick in, also powerful antioxidants and powerful blood sugar regulations:

Scientists have recently discovered a fascinating relationship between intake of strawberries, table sugar, and blood sugar levels. As you might expect, excess intake of table sugar (in a serving size of 5-6 teaspoons) can result in an unwanted blood sugar spike. But you might not expect this blood sugar spike to be reduced by simultaneous consumption of strawberries! Yet that’s exactly what researchers have discovered. With the equivalent of approximately one cup of fresh strawberries (approximately 150 grams), blood sugar elevations from simple sugar intake can be reduced. ย 

(Source:ย http://www.whfoods.com/)

Sandwich thins as something I like a bit of bread but not a lot!

Sugar-free raspberry jam to spread on oatcakes for a snack or add to anything I want to sweeten up. Raspberries have also shown to reduce body fat (raspberry ketones)

Lime to use for cooking and taste. Lime can triple the absorption of iron when eating foods that contain iron (great for vegetarians who eats beans for instance!)

Apples for when I want something sweet. Apples can also help to regulate blood sugar. Also, currently animal studies have shown that apples can help to promote good bacteria in the large intestine – which is important for an optimal digestion.

Salad leafs for a quick and easy meal. Green leafs provide so many minerals and vitamins that the body NEEDS and it’s essential to an optimally healthy diet.

Kefir to give the gut good bacteria. It wasn’tย until I started to work for Amanda Hamilton I never really thought much about gut health, but after doing a bit of reading and research it made sense that a happy gut, that works the way it should, is essential to optimal metabolism. Just a shot a day is enough! Add to smoothies or eat with berries. It’s got quite a sour taste so something sweet like fruit is good to eat with it!

Eggs as they are probably my favorite food! So many ways you can cook them and they taste amazing. It’s said that eggs are probably one of the world’s most healthiest food. And don’t worry about the cholesterol – the more cholesterol you eat, the more you excrete.

Asparagus for to use as a side dish or in salads. Asparagus is a probiotic which means they help the good bacteria in the gut and also keep a good balance between the “good” and “bad” bacteria. So kefir and asparagus is a perfect match!

Next time I go shopping there will be something different in my basket. Some stuff will of course always come home with my like eggs, coconut milk and oatcakes. But I try to change up the foods so I can get the different nutrient contents all the lovely foods that are out there provide.

What’s in your basket when you go food shopping?

Leave me a comment

